Language, Literacy, Teaching, Technology

Blog Challenge- What is Your Word Cloud Story?

This is a blog challenge. Please blog and Tweet about your results of this challenge.  I was inspired to create this challenge after my husband introduced me to Tagxedo.  It is a website where you can make word clouds from your Tweeter I.D., URL, News, Search, or RSS Look-up in about 5 minutes or less.  It scans the most frequent words used and turns these words into a word cloud.  Most of you have already seen word clouds before and probably have created one.  If you haven’t made one, try Tagxedo out.  The words you get on your word cloud, as the most frequent words, is interesting. The words that are used the most on your Tweets or blog, are larger on your word cloud.

I created two word clouds using Tagxedo to see what it would generate as the most frequent words from my Twitter I.D. @adaptivelearnin and from my blog here.  The outcome is fascinating.  As soon as I read my results I was inspired to do this blog challenge.  My word clouds interestingly tell my story, who I am and what my passions are.  Many of the larger words are things I love.  My word cloud communicates encouragement, inspiring, possibility, belief, and speaks positively which are all essence of who I am.  I’m amazed at how well it speaks my personality, what I believe in and stand for.  What will your word cloud say?

Here is my blog challenge for you.

  1. Create a word cloud from your Twitter I.D., blog or website using Tagxedo.
  2. Review the words it generates.
  3. Describe how the word cloud tells your story, who you are, illustrates your personality, portrays what you are passionate about, shows your beliefs, etc.
  4. Blog about your word cloud story and share your findings with your readers, Tweet about your findings, and please share your findings with me.  I’d love to hear what you think your word cloud says about you, so please do share back with me.  You’ll be enlightened and amazed at what you see and how your word cloud communicates who you are.

Here are my word clouds:  What do you believe my word clouds say about me?  Please comment on what you think they communicate about me.  I’d love to hear your thoughts and have a fun discussion.

Twitter I.D. @adaptivelearnin

Blog https://adaptivelearnin.wordpress.com

Update:
My husband does Emergency Management and Disaster Response for a living. Here’s his word cloud. I’m including this because I want to show how different his is from mine according to his profession, and because he is the one that inspired me to come up with this blog challenge idea. It’s interesting how our results reflect our careers.  Here’s his disastermapping blog link and here is his Twitter I.D. @emgis.

About adaptivelearnin

I am an educational professional who is passionate about needs analysis and materials creation to enhance student learning of all ages. I hope the content I share here will be of value to you in some way. Opinions are my own and are not those of my employer. Join me at my session for the 2013 TESOL International Conference, "ESL Instruction: Developing Your Skills to Become a Master Conductor", March 21 10:00 AM in room C144. My presentation focuses on listening, speaking and pronunciation music teaching techniques incorporated with ESL teaching. This is not your typical music/ESL presentation with chants and songs. Be prepared to use your vocal chords, diaphragm, lungs, mouth muscles, and arms like you have never used before in pronunciation, speaking and language instruction. Learn how to use music conducting skills in the language classroom to better facilitate language acquisition. Learn how to use music performance skills (vocal and instrumental) to better facilitate language learning. Be prepared to laugh and have fun. I look forward to meeting you and working with you.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Blog Challenge- What is Your Word Cloud Story?

  1. Hey Beth,
    I’ve also taken your challenge and posted onto my blog. It was a great idea! Hope you like it:

    http://eltbakery.edublogs.org/2011/10/27/what-is-your-word-cloud-story-a-quick-blog-challenge/

    Thanks,
    Eduardo

    Posted by Eduardo Santos (@eltbakery) | October 27, 2011, 1:23 am
  2. I’ve taken you up on this one, Beth. Fun results. Merci 4 the challenge ! cheers, brad

    http://blog.edulang.com/quick-blog-challenge-from-adaptivelearnin/

    Posted by brad5patterson | October 26, 2011, 11:41 am
    • Thanks Brad for taking the challenge and thanks for posting it here. Definitely fun results! Here soon I will comment on your blog as a follow-up to you taking up the challenge. I love how the challenge communicates who we are. We interact with our PLN on a regular basis. We know some about each other through our regular interactions, but I think this challenge allows us to learn a little more about each other. It allows us to learn about each others interests, passions, and what we stand for. Very cool! Since we are all virtually connected, I think this brings sense of community. I love that so many seem to love this challenge. It’s exciting. Cheers, Beth

      Posted by adaptivelearnin | October 26, 2011, 12:35 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Blog Challenge- What is Your Word Cloud Story? | adaptivelearnin | Scoop.it - October 28, 2011

  2. Pingback: » What is your Word Cloud Story? – A quick blog challenge ELT Bakery - October 27, 2011

Leave a comment

Check our our new website

View Beth Crumpler's profile on LinkedIn
Follow Me on Pinterest
Top Expert in eLearning and EdTech

Archives