Technology

Glogster…so Cool! Create Glogs for your Classroom (Interactive Lessons)

Interactive whiteboard at CeBIT 2007

Image via Wikipedia

Glogster looks like the coolest thing ever!  I’m surprised I did not discover it before now.  Glog with your classroom, instead of Blog!  It supports the national standards of learning and is an interactive tool with a drop drag interface for creating presentations, projects, posters, etc. This would be a great resource to use with Interactive Whiteboards (Black Board & Promethean).  I started a Glog to test its functionality and the speed at which a Glog is produced.  Teachers are very busy, so I understand the need for finding technology-infused tools to develop content-rich lessons and curriculum on the fly.

A Glog gives varied options for adding multimedia content in the form of images, text, audio, graphics, and video.  There is multimedia content already available for you to use, but it is limited.  To create lessons that have more varied content, you can upload your own multimedia.  You can also use the “Grab” icon to take a live video or audio recording using the camera and audio recorder on your computer.  Media files from the web can also be added by using the “Link,” icon.

To begin creating my “free” Glog here is what I did:

  • I clicked on the “wall” icon that is located on left hand side of the page.  I selected from the gallery of wall options.  (You have the option to select a color as your background instead if you want).  I then clicked “use it” to apply the wall option to my Glog.
  • Next I clicked on the “graphics” icon.  I then clicked on the subject matter of the graphic images I wanted to use.  I scrolled through the graphics and selected an image.  I then clicked on “use it” to apply it to my Glog.  I did this repeatedly until I had all the images applied that I desired.   (Note: The selection of graphics for the free version is very limited. It would be more beneficial to upload your own graphics.  I, however, did not do this at this time because I just wanted to see how to use the basic functions of creating a Glog).
  • Next I edited my images.  I clicked on the image I wanted to edit.  Editing options will then pop up as “bring it forward”, “put it behind”, “clone”, “cancel changes”, or “delete” an item.  By clicking on the “Edit” button in the same box, you can also “change the graphics color” “add link”, “edit text/font/color,” and place “effects” on an object.  I clicked on these editing tools and applied the changes I desired.
  • I added links to my images.  I clicked on the image, clicked on “edit,” and then clicked on “add link.”  Once I clicked on “add link” a box popped up prompting me to copy the web address to the link from another browser and paste it into the box.  I followed this and repeated it, adding a link for all of my images. (You don’t have to add a link for all of your images, it’s just what I chose to do).  I was creating my Glog for a beginning ESL learner to learn the vocabulary of animals, so I provided links that the learner could click on from each image which would then take them to an ESL-related website.
  • I next added text images.  I selected on “text” in the left hand menu and selected the text image I wanted.  Each time I then clicked “use it” to apply the text image to my Glog.  I then clicked in the middle of the text box to type the text I wanted to apply to the image.
  • I next edited the text boxes in the same way I edited the images.  For reference, look above for details on how to edit an image.
  • Next, I clicked on “video” and then typed in my search word to find video that is related to my Glog.  I clicked on the video that I wanted to view.  It appeared in the right-hand side of the pop-up where I then clicked on it to view the video.  I did this until I found the videos I wanted to add to my Glog.  I then clicked on “players” to add a border around my video in order to make the video more appealing visually.  Finally I clicked “use it” to apply the video to my Glog.
  • To add sound, I clicked the “sound” icon on the left-hand side.  I then clicked “grab” to record and add my audio recording.  Glogster asked me for access to use my webcam and microphone.  I then clicked “record” to record my audio files.  After this I clicked “use it” to use the audio in my Glog.  I dragged the audio file icon next to the images.  Since I was making my Glog for an ESL learner, I recorded audio of vocabulary words so that students could click on the audio and learn how to say the word.  In my Glog, the text on how to spell the word was also right next to the audio file so students could see how to spell it.  Without using an attached good quality microphone to your computer, the audio recordings won’t be of the best quality.
  • Other items that can be uploaded to your Glog are: “draw”, and add “data” files from Word, Excel, PowerPoint, PDF, and wrapped files. I did not use these items at the time, because I was doing a brief Glog. Use of these other tools, could definitely make a Glog richer in multimedia content, especially with the use of uploading data files from PowerPoint.
  • I clicked “preview” at the top of my page to preview the Glog.  I then clicked “back to edit” to return to my editing screen.
  • Finally, at the top of the page, I clicked “save or publish” to save my Glog.

Options for creating a Glog without joining the premium service or uploading your own multimedia content or links, is minimal.  Access to Public Domain, images, video, and audio is highly important if you don’t want to spend the time creating your own content.  I clicked on several examples of already created Glogs.  Teachers took and uploaded video and audio in their classrooms and created interactive lessons for their students.  Go to the Glogster EDU webpage and check out examples of created educational content and browse by category.

Your finished Glog can be embedded into a website, blog (although for some reason, not WordPress), and so forth using coding that is provided.  Glogster can be joined for “Free,” or if you want “Premium” service and tools, you can pay for it.

Pros:

  • Ability to create interactive lessons for teaching and learning
  • Glogs can be embedded into websites, blogs, etc. to create more content rich lessons.
  • There are some files available for you to use under the “free” Glogster version, so you don’t have to find all of your own material.
  • Glogs seem to be a great lesson tool to use with Interactive Whiteboards.
  • Navigation was fairly simple, although if you don’t have much tech skill then it would be more difficult for you to navigate
  • Glogs offer you a URL web address which can be used to share your Glog for easier access to learning
  • The features are extremely interactive for diverse learners…ability to create audio, video, text, graphics etc.

Cons:

  • It did take me some time to create a simple Glog, so when using Glogster, you need time on your hands
  • Glogs can’t be embedded into WordPress blogs, but the links to Glogs can be inserted
  • Audio recording through the webcam is not of great quality.  If you want recording with good quality you need to use a separate microphone.
  • The current choice of graphics, images, and video is very selective.  To create more diverse lessons, you would have to upload your own multimedia content.

Overall I highly recommend Glogster.  Simply, it is an awesome and cool tool for creating lesson content that is interactive for learners of all backgrounds and learning needs.  It is content-rich and can be used to create lessons that meet national and state standards.  Glogs seem like they would just make learning fun for students. We all know that using content that is engaging to students is essential to their understanding, learning and retention of lesson goals.  I have fallen in love with Glogster and plan to use it extensively in the future.  Time investment is crucial but for high learning outcomes, it is worth it.  Try Glogster, you’ll enjoy it!

Note: WordPress does not let Glogs to be embedded into this blog.  Here is the link to my example Glog- Animals for ESL Learner.

Related articles

About adaptivelearnin

I am an educational professional who is passionate about needs analysis and materials creation to enhance student learning of all ages. I hope the content I share here will be of value to you in some way. Opinions are my own and are not those of my employer. Join me at my session for the 2013 TESOL International Conference, "ESL Instruction: Developing Your Skills to Become a Master Conductor", March 21 10:00 AM in room C144. My presentation focuses on listening, speaking and pronunciation music teaching techniques incorporated with ESL teaching. This is not your typical music/ESL presentation with chants and songs. Be prepared to use your vocal chords, diaphragm, lungs, mouth muscles, and arms like you have never used before in pronunciation, speaking and language instruction. Learn how to use music conducting skills in the language classroom to better facilitate language acquisition. Learn how to use music performance skills (vocal and instrumental) to better facilitate language learning. Be prepared to laugh and have fun. I look forward to meeting you and working with you.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Glogster…so Cool! Create Glogs for your Classroom (Interactive Lessons)

  1. Hi Beth-

    Thanks for posting your blog on linked-in. I’ve given it a spin, like it and have subscribed 😉

    I work mostly from wordpress, so I’m not sure about glogster as it is today, but I was glad to hear about your experience. Looking forward to your next post. Cheers, Brad

    Posted by brad5patterson | August 11, 2011, 7:28 am
    • Thanks Brad for subscribing. Your blog looks awesome too. I have subscribed and am look forward to reviewing more of your blogs as my time permits. I am currently working on several new blogs….my mind is flowing with ideas. Some of the blog postings I’m working on will be a series. I’ll have each one up as soon as I can. Thanks again. Beth

      Posted by adaptivelearnin | August 11, 2011, 3:01 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Glog for Presentations for Why Teachers Should Join Twitter « adaptivelearnin - July 15, 2012

  2. Pingback: Glogster…so Cool! Create Glogs for your Classroom (Interactive Lessons) | eduglogster | Scoop.it - December 6, 2011

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Glogs for Professional Development « adaptivelearnin - November 7, 2011

  4. Pingback: Why Teachers Should Join Twitter Interactive Poster (Glog) « adaptivelearnin - October 30, 2011

  5. Pingback: Web 2.0 Interactive Posters for Lessons- Glogster EDU For Teachers « adaptivelearnin - October 14, 2011

  6. Pingback: Glogster it « FromBirnamWood - October 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

Check our our new website

View Beth Crumpler's profile on LinkedIn
Follow Me on Pinterest
Top Expert in eLearning and EdTech

Archives

