Language, Teaching

Five Minute Friday: The Here and Now

Be Here Now

Be Here Now (Photo credit: Aunti Juli)

It’s Five Minute Friday time!  Remember you too can join in this “writing flash mob” and/or do it with your students.  It’s a simple and quick free writing exercise.  Read my post introducing Five Minute Friday for details on how to participate.  Also, check out how to incorporate Five Minute Friday with creating interactive posters for the “Writing Process”.

Set aside five minutes of free writing time to join me on writing about “Here”, today’s topic.  Remember I’m applying my Five Minute Friday posts toward education and work, but you can write about anything about “Here” that sparks your interest.

Start…

Right now, right here is your moment.  It is your moment to be, to do.  No dwelling on yesterday and it’s struggles, no worries of tomorrow.  Tomorrow will be here when tomorrow comes.  As for now, this moment, we are in the here and now.  So, now that now is here, what are you to do?  

Step out in the day, step out in all you are and be the best you that you can be.  Here and now is your moment to do your best and succeed in all you can.  No worries for failure because if failure should occur in the here and now, this moment will too pass and the future will become the here and now that you can triumph in.  So no worries about yesterday, and let tomorrow be the here and now when it comes.  To be and do the best you can in the here and now is to focus on the here and make the most of the moment, make the most of your abilities in the now. This is how you learn.  This is how you succeed.

Focusing on yesterday in the here just brings worry which results in obstacles.  Obstacles become hurdles that hold you back.  They hold you back from learning and success.  Worrying of yesterday in the here brings struggle that can be avoided if you realign your focus on the here and now, and nothing else.  This is how you learn.  This is how you succeed.  

Focusing on tomorrow in the here brings worry and struggles about what could happen if only, what if, what might, and more.  These words to yourself in the here emphasizes the possibility and worry of the future, neglecting the here and now.  This neglect reinforces failure in the here and now.  So let tomorrow be.  Tomorrow will take care of tomorrow when it comes, when it becomes here and now.  Let this moment here be your focus, be your work, and be our vision. This is how you learn.  This is how you succeed.  

Stop! 

Note: During Five Minute Friday, you are not supposed to stop to make any edits.  Free writing without stopping is the purpose.  Notice there are errors in my Five Minute Friday writing above.  These errors will not be edited because editing them would defeat the purpose of Five Minute Friday.  Part of the reason I’m featuring Five Minute Friday on adaptivelearnin is to teach students how to write without anxiety.  I want them to see the errors to show them that errors are okay to make during free writing.  I want this to be an educational experience for them.  Feel free to use this or my other FMF posts as examples in lessons if you wish.  Happy Friday!

Five Minute Friday

About adaptivelearnin

I am an educational professional who is passionate about needs analysis and materials creation to enhance student learning of all ages. I hope the content I share here will be of value to you in some way. Opinions are my own and are not those of my employer. Join me at my session for the 2013 TESOL International Conference, "ESL Instruction: Developing Your Skills to Become a Master Conductor", March 21 10:00 AM in room C144. My presentation focuses on listening, speaking and pronunciation music teaching techniques incorporated with ESL teaching. This is not your typical music/ESL presentation with chants and songs. Be prepared to use your vocal chords, diaphragm, lungs, mouth muscles, and arms like you have never used before in pronunciation, speaking and language instruction. Learn how to use music conducting skills in the language classroom to better facilitate language acquisition. Learn how to use music performance skills (vocal and instrumental) to better facilitate language learning. Be prepared to laugh and have fun. I look forward to meeting you and working with you.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: The Here and Now

  1. ‘No dwelling on yesterday and it’s struggles, no worries of tomorrow’ These are the two things that so many times I let rule my thoughts. Thank you for reminding me that now is all that matters. Beautiful words.

    Posted by Amy P Boyd | April 12, 2013, 10:31 pm
  2. Oh this is great and such a great reminder to live in the moment! The here and now, not in the yesterday or the tomorrows

    Posted by Jennifer Peterson | April 12, 2013, 1:27 pm
  3. We are neighbors at Lisa-Jo’s today! Very nice take on the prompt! I remember years ago – I was stuck in the If Only’s and What If’s – and the Lord spoke to my heart and said, I am not the I Was, (which is what IF Only focuses on) and I am not the I May Be (which is what the What Ifs fear) – I am the I AM… it was a powerful call to do just what you are writing about – to stay present – in the here and now! Love this!

    Posted by Karrilee Aggett | April 12, 2013, 12:16 pm
  4. Really good writing.

    Posted by shortybear | April 12, 2013, 2:43 am

Leave a comment

Check our our new website

View Beth Crumpler's profile on LinkedIn
Follow Me on Pinterest
Top Expert in eLearning and EdTech

Archives