Language, Special Education, Teaching, Thoughts

Five Minute Friday: “Un” “Broken”

unbroken by Beth CrumplerIt’s Five Minute Friday time!  Remember you too can join in this “writing flash mob” and/or do it with your students.  It’s a simple and quick free writing exercise.  Read my post introducing Five Minute Friday for details on how to participate.  Also, check out how to incorporate Five Minute Friday with creating interactive posters for the “Writing Process”.

Set aside five minutes of free writing time to join me on writing about “Broken”, today’s topic.  Remember I’m applying my Five Minute Friday posts toward education and work, but you can write about anything about “Broken” that sparks your interest.

Start…

Some say you are broken.  I speak to the contrary.  Some say you are limited and can’t do much.  I speak to the contrary and say you can.  Some say you have are not brilliant.  I speak to the contrary and say you are smart in your own right.  Some say you don’t have great abilities.  I speak to the contrary and say you can do anything you set your mind to.  Some think you are broken.  I speak to the contrary and say you are the “un” of “broken”.  You are whole in everything you are.  

When others say you are broken and not complete.  I speak to the contrary and say you are un-broken.  You are complete and capable of great things.  Broken means something that is in parts, not whole, incomplete, in fragments, scattered all over the place and the like.  To say this of you, is to say you are shattered and not a complete person.  Who has the right to say this?  Who has the right to judge?  No one!  I speak to the contrary!  I speak for you!  I speak standing up for you to those who say you are less…to those who judge.  

I advocate.  I take a stance for you!  Someone has to do it.  Someone has to believe in your greatest.  For although you may have challenges, that doesn’t mean you are broken.  Whenever anyone says anything less, remember you are the “un” of “broken”.  You are whole and completely you…completely capable of brilliance!  

Stop! 

Note: During Five Minute Friday, you are not supposed to stop to make any edits.  Free writing without stopping is the purpose.  Notice there are errors in my Five Minute Friday writing above.  These errors will not be edited because editing them would defeat the purpose of Five Minute Friday.  Part of the reason I’m featuring Five Minute Friday on adaptivelearnin is to teach students how to write without anxiety.  I want them to see the errors to show them that errors are okay to make during free writing.  I want this to be an educational experience for them.  Feel free to use this or my other FMF posts as examples in lessons if you wish.  Happy Friday!

Five Minute Friday

About adaptivelearnin

I am an educational professional who is passionate about needs analysis and materials creation to enhance student learning of all ages. I hope the content I share here will be of value to you in some way. Opinions are my own and are not those of my employer. Join me at my session for the 2013 TESOL International Conference, "ESL Instruction: Developing Your Skills to Become a Master Conductor", March 21 10:00 AM in room C144. My presentation focuses on listening, speaking and pronunciation music teaching techniques incorporated with ESL teaching. This is not your typical music/ESL presentation with chants and songs. Be prepared to use your vocal chords, diaphragm, lungs, mouth muscles, and arms like you have never used before in pronunciation, speaking and language instruction. Learn how to use music conducting skills in the language classroom to better facilitate language acquisition. Learn how to use music performance skills (vocal and instrumental) to better facilitate language learning. Be prepared to laugh and have fun. I look forward to meeting you and working with you.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: “Un” “Broken”

  1. Hi Richelle! You stopped by my post earlier and said something about my talent… oh, but I broke all the rules of Five Minute Friday! I used to stick to them strictly, but now keep them very loosely. I agree that writing with abandon is so freeing…not worrying about edits. And you’ve done a great job getting your thoughts across in a free write. I applaud you. Thanks for sharing!

    Posted by Jacqui | March 29, 2013, 9:47 pm
  2. from another special educator ~ this is nothing less than marvelous! I love it!

    Posted by richelle @ "our wright"-ing pad | March 29, 2013, 2:30 pm
    • Thanks Richelle. It was special education students I was targeting my thoughts to. I’m so thrilled you saw that as an educator. I however also tried to write this in the context to encourage any person who needs to hear it. The message can transcend to anyone who has had broken words spoken to them. All of use need encouragement in one way or another at times. I hope this inspires and encourages anyone who needs the encouragement. I mean every word! Happy Friday and blessings to you and your students.

      Posted by adaptivelearnin | March 29, 2013, 2:37 pm
  3. Very encouraging and thought provoking. Thanks for sharing! Stopping by from FMF 🙂

    Posted by Heather | March 29, 2013, 2:11 pm

Leave a comment

Check our our new website

View Beth Crumpler's profile on LinkedIn
Follow Me on Pinterest
Top Expert in eLearning and EdTech

Archives