Language, Teaching, Thoughts

Five Minute Friday: Remembering the Best of the Best

Inspiration

Inspiration (Photo credit: photosteve101)

It’s Five Minute Friday time!  Remember you too can join in this “writing flash mob” and/or do it with your students.  It’s a simple and quick free writing exercise.  Read my post introducing Five Minute Friday for details on how to participate.  Also, check out how to incorporate Five Minute Friday with creating interactive posters for the “Writing Process”.

Set aside five minutes of free writing time to join me on writing about “Remember”, today’s topic.  Remember I’m applying my Five Minute Friday posts toward education and work, but you can write about anything about “Home” that sparks your interest.

Start…

We never forget truly inspirational teachers.  They set a light in our hearts and direction to our paths because they cared.  And, because they believed in the best in us even when we failed.  They sparked the area in us that needed lit.  They invested in us because they knew that if they wouldn’t invest that we may give up.  They knew the loss that the world would entail, the loss of opportunity, the loss of us impacting the world for the better if we give up.  They believed and gave everything because they knew the world needed us.  We had something to offer and we would change someone or something somewhere.  

To the inspirational teachers I had.  Hats off to you.  I remember and am a teacher now because of your belief in me, your patience, your dedication, and your investment.  I now am paying it forward to my students.  They too will remember.  They too will make a difference in the world because of the investment you made in me as I pass what I learned on.  I pay it forward because of you.  I remember.  My students and I remember you.  I tell stories.  I share inspiration to light passion in the world to make the world a better place.  Hats off to you! Bravisimo!  Remembering the best of the best- Mr. Dominguez, Mrs. Buss, Mrs. Smith, Mr. Swartz, Mrs. Knight, Mrs. Fisher, Mr. Hines, Mr. Jones who made a difference for me.  Thank you! – Beth 

Stop! 

Note: During Five Minute Friday, you are not supposed to stop to make any edits.  Free writing without stopping is the purpose.  Notice there are errors in my Five Minute Friday writing above.  These errors will not be edited because editing them would defeat the purpose of Five Minute Friday.  Part of the reason I’m featuring Five Minute Friday on adaptivelearnin is to teach students how to write without anxiety.  I want them to see the errors to show them that errors are okay to make during free writing.  I want this to be an educational experience for them.  Feel free to use this or my other FMF posts as examples in lessons if you wish.  Happy Friday!

Five Minute Friday

About adaptivelearnin

I am an educational professional who is passionate about needs analysis and materials creation to enhance student learning of all ages. I hope the content I share here will be of value to you in some way. Opinions are my own and are not those of my employer. Join me at my session for the 2013 TESOL International Conference, "ESL Instruction: Developing Your Skills to Become a Master Conductor", March 21 10:00 AM in room C144. My presentation focuses on listening, speaking and pronunciation music teaching techniques incorporated with ESL teaching. This is not your typical music/ESL presentation with chants and songs. Be prepared to use your vocal chords, diaphragm, lungs, mouth muscles, and arms like you have never used before in pronunciation, speaking and language instruction. Learn how to use music conducting skills in the language classroom to better facilitate language acquisition. Learn how to use music performance skills (vocal and instrumental) to better facilitate language learning. Be prepared to laugh and have fun. I look forward to meeting you and working with you.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Remembering the Best of the Best

  1. I love being a teacher! My students practise free writing as well. I give them 10 minutes; I was surprised when they told me that they wanted more time.

    Posted by acinstructor | March 24, 2013, 1:25 am
  2. Good post.

    Posted by shortybear | March 23, 2013, 5:34 am
  3. So true…passionate teachers are the ones with the power to influence the world. Found your site from Five Minute Friday ~ love your take on “Remembering”!

    Posted by SarahJayne | March 23, 2013, 1:33 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: ‘Five Minute Friday’: Remember | O2B heavenly minded - March 28, 2013

Leave a comment

Check our our new website

View Beth Crumpler's profile on LinkedIn
Follow Me on Pinterest
Top Expert in eLearning and EdTech

Archives