Language, Literacy

Sight Word Acquisition Book and Accompanying MP3 Files

An MP3 CD player (Philips Expanium)

Image via Wikipedia

(Update: Due to requests I have made the MP3 files now downloadable.  In order to download the files, please follow the instructions provided above the MP3’s.)

Parents of ESL students I have worked with have had trouble facilitating their children with homework assignments, especially with sight words.  They have informed me that they have not known how to read or pronounce the sight words but really have wanted to help their children learn the words so they can become better readers.  I am sharing this sight word acquisition book and accompanying MP3 files I created based off of the sight words from Jan Richardson’s “The Next Step in Guided Reading”.   I created this book for use as homework facilitation by ELL students, however it can be used by any student.  Co-workers have used this with students in their classrooms.  They have printed the book and had students listen to the files on the computer or on the CD player.  I have also used this in the classroom on a Smart Board.  Students trace the words with the Smart Board pen as they listen to the MP3 files.

In order to use the printed book or send it home as homework, you should have a sheet protector, dry erase pen and some sort of eraser for erasing the dry erase marks.  I have bound the book or have put it in a ringed folder.  The sheet protector is used by students to write on with the dry erase marker.  The student places the sheet protector over the page he or she is working on.  When prompted, the student traces or writes the word with the dry erase marker.  Sheet protectors should be used because it’s less time-consuming than laminating each page, and still allows the books to be reused over and over again.

Some students do not have access to MP3 devices or computers at home.  In these instances I have burned the MP3 file to CD’s so that the student could play the recording on the CD player or DVD player they have at home.  I hope you are able to use this as much as I have with facilitating student sight word and reading acquisition.

Sight Word Acquisition Book
Creative Commons License
Sight Word Acquisition Book by Beth Crumpler is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at adaptivelearnin.files.wordpress.com.

Sight Word Acquisition Book Accompanying MP3 Files Below:

Creative Commons License
Sight Word Acquisition MP3 by Beth Crumpler is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 United States License.

Right-click the links and choose “Save Link As…” to save the MP3 file to your computer.

01 Directions

02 Am

03 At

04 Can

05 Go

06 Is

07 Me

08 My

09 See

10 The

11 To

12 Up

13 We

14 And

15 Do

16 Got

17 Had

18 Has

19 He

20 His

21 In

22 It

23 Like

24 Look

25 On

26 Are

27 Come

28 Did

29 For

30 Get

31 Have

32 Here

33 Him

34 Of

35 Play

36 Said

37 She

38 Will

39 You

40 All

41 Down

42 Saw

43 That

44 They

45 This

46 Was

47 Went

48 What

49 When

50 Where

51 With

52 Day

53 Give

54 Her

55 New

56 Out

57 Over

58 Then

59 Want

60 Were

61 Your

62 Review 1

63 Review 2

64 Review 3

About adaptivelearnin

I am an educational professional who is passionate about needs analysis and materials creation to enhance student learning of all ages. I hope the content I share here will be of value to you in some way. Opinions are my own and are not those of my employer. Join me at my session for the 2013 TESOL International Conference, "ESL Instruction: Developing Your Skills to Become a Master Conductor", March 21 10:00 AM in room C144. My presentation focuses on listening, speaking and pronunciation music teaching techniques incorporated with ESL teaching. This is not your typical music/ESL presentation with chants and songs. Be prepared to use your vocal chords, diaphragm, lungs, mouth muscles, and arms like you have never used before in pronunciation, speaking and language instruction. Learn how to use music conducting skills in the language classroom to better facilitate language acquisition. Learn how to use music performance skills (vocal and instrumental) to better facilitate language learning. Be prepared to laugh and have fun. I look forward to meeting you and working with you.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Sight Word Acquisition Book and Accompanying MP3 Files

  1. Thanks for your reply. I appreciate the extra effort you are going to… no rush as we have just started 2 weeks of school holidays here 🙂

    Posted by Janet Leadbeater (@JanetLeadbeater) | October 1, 2011, 5:29 pm
  2. Hi Beth,
    I’ve just discovered your blog. I’m keen to try your sight word idea and I think it would be a valuable addition to my classroom, as I’m looking to extend what I’m doing with sight words. However, I don’t know how to access your mp3 files through flash. Would you please explain how I can save them. I can also be reached at jayjuice @ hotmail.com [minus spaces]. Thanks!
    Janet

    Posted by Janet Leadbeater (@JanetLeadbeater) | September 30, 2011, 9:40 pm
    • Janet,

      Thanks so much for your interest in the Sight Word Book and MP3. I’m thrilled you would like to use it in your classroom. That’s why I shared it…so more students can be facilitated and reached in an engaging and interactive way. It has been extremely helpful with my students. It is a very good homework resource as well. When I get computer access within the next day or two I will comment and/or email you on how you can have access to download the MP3’s. I’m typing from my i-phone and it’s too hard to do this from my phone. It’s an older i-phone…I really need to upgrade. I’m out and about and will have computer with high speed internet access later. I wanted to write a short comment here to thank you for your interest and let you know that I’ve read your comment and do plan to get back to you soon. I didn’t want to keep you waiting and wondering with no reply. Thanks again. I’ll be recommenting soon. -Beth

      Posted by adaptivelearnin | October 1, 2011, 1:08 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Audacity- Every Teacher Should Learn To Digital Audio Record (Part 1: Getting Started) « adaptivelearnin - October 21, 2011

  2. Pingback: Alphabet Acquisition Book and Accompanying MP3 Files « adaptivelearnin - October 5, 2011

Leave a comment

Check our our new website

View Beth Crumpler's profile on LinkedIn
Follow Me on Pinterest
Top Expert in eLearning and EdTech

Archives